7th Serbian Conference on Spectral Line Shapes in Astrophysics 15-19. June 2009, Zrenjanin, Serbia

www.scslsa.matf.bg.ac.yu

Scientific Rationale

The spectral lines are powerful tools for gas diagnostics in different astrophysical objects. The emission/absorption lines of astrophysical objects are produced over a wide range of distances from an observer and under a wide range of physical and kinematical conditions. Therefore in astrophysical objects the lines from X-ray to the radio have been observed. On the other hand, the experimental and theoretical investigations of laboratory plasma have been applied in spectroscopic astrophysical research, especially atomic data needed for line shape calculations. This conference will bring together astronomers (observers and theoreticians) and physicists to review the present stage of investigation, with the aim of improving our knowledge in this field, and to better understand the significance of emission/absorption lines for future astrophysical investigations.

The program will focus on:

- Stellar and interstellar spectral lines
- Spectral line phenomena in extragalactic objects
- Spectral lines in laboratory plasma

Invited speakers:

Sylvie Sahal-Bréchot (France) Martin Gaskell (USA) **Roland Stamm (France) Derek Homeier (Germany)** George Chartas (USA) Gillian Peach (United Kingdom) Jack Sulentic (USA) Milorad Kuraica (Serbia) **Emmanouil Danezis (Greece)** Wolfram Kollatschny (Germany) Alla Shapovalova (Russia) Piero Rafanelli (Italy) Stefano Ciroi (Italy) Alexei Moiseev (Russia) **Dolores Calzada Canalejo (Spain)** Magdalena Christova (Bulgaria) Mike Eracleous (USA) **Nebil Ben Nessib (Tunisia)** Damian J. Christian (USA/United Kingdom) Anatolij Mihajlov (Serbia)

Andrej N. Klyucharev (Russia)

Under auspices: Ministry of Science and Technological Development

Scientific Organizing Committee:

Milan S. Dimitrijević (Co-chairman) Luka Č. Popović (Co-chairman)

Edward Baron (USA) Nebil Ben Nessib (Tunisia) John Danziger (Italy) **Emanuel Danezis (Greece)** Peter Hauschildt (Germany) Darko Jevremović (Serbia)
Evencio Mediavilla (Spain)
Anatolij A. Mihajlov (Serbia)
Vladimir Milosavljević (Serbia)
Gillian Peach (United Kingdom) Jagoš Purić (Serbia) Tanya Ryabchikova (Russia) Myakzyum Kh. Salakhov (Kussia) Alexander F. Zakharov (Russia)

Local Organizing Committee:

Yu. N. Gnedin (Russia) **Maarten Baes (Belgium)**

Luka Č. Popović, Chairman (lpopovic@aob.bg.ac.yu)

Dragana Ilić, Co-vice chairperson (dilic@matf.bg.ac.yu) Darko Jevremović, Co-vice chairman (darko@aob.bg.ac.yu)

Edi Bon Miodrag Dačić Milan S. Dimitrijević Nataša Gavrilović Predrag Jovanović Andjelka Kovačević Jelena Kovačević Tanja Milovanov Zoran Simić Saša Simić Marko Stalevski

Venue

The conference will be held in hotel "Vojvodina" located in the center of Zrenjanin. Zrenjanin is situated in the northern Serbian province of Vojvodina. It is the administrative centre of the Central Banat District of Serbia.

Sponsored by: Institute "Mihajlo Pupin"